nobody is truly immune

There was a shooting in my area.  It was rather far from home and I was at my grandparents’ at the time.

There is no such thing as immunity to this.  There is no immunity to hate, to fighting, to violence.  Nobody is truly immune to this.

And that’s scary.  Scary that it hits so close to home, even if you have no idea who the people involved are.  There were multiple victims.  Yes, it was suspected that they’re involved in gang activity, and that’s unfortunate.  Small choices lead to huge tragedies.

But even if they were involved in gang activity, they’re still human.  They’re brothers, sons, fathers, uncles, sisters, daughters, mothers, aunts.  Friends.

Now in critical condition because of one small choice leading to another leading to another.

People still with a chance, a hope for redemption.

Distant from home still feels too close.

 

home — is this a quiet place where you should be alone?  is this where the tortured and the troubled find their own?  i don’t know.  but i can tell this isn’t you, your cover’s blown.

space, something corporate

2 thoughts on “nobody is truly immune

  1. First off, nice new header. Pretty!

    I’m sorry to hear about the shooting in your area. That must have been scary. (I guess Canada’s not as perfect as I believed it to be?)

    We get gang or mafia violence over here sometimes too and it just makes me sad. I mean this is the Middle East. Violence happens. There are wars, bombings, etc. And it makes me angry. When Israelis are killed because they are Israeli, I take that personally. Each one of those could have been me. Makes me hate those who did it. Makes me want revenge. But when Israelis kill other Israelis for stupid reasons, i.e. gang or mafia violence – things that usually have to do with money or drugs, it scares me less since as someone who’s not in a gang or mafia, my chances of getting hurt in something like that are lower. But still, it boggles my mind why people would kill each other like that. That makes me sad. That there are people in the world who kill other humans, especially ones who live in the same country and are supposed to be a team, believing in the same values, etc.

    *Hugs*

    • Thanks! Need to do some work on the background still, but it’ll come together soon enough.

      Far from perfect. We really pride ourselves on peace and helping others, but of course, not everybody’s in on it. And that sucks. I can’t imagine living in a place like the Middle East where the same things occur and then some. This shooting wasn’t random, but there are enough random ones too [though usually downtown and such.]

      Thanks ❤

Leave a Reply

