#hawmc six – “the summer has me, the summer has me sold”

The book[let] closest to me was the VersaEmerge CD booklet.  I closed my eyes and ended up pointing to the lyric from the song “Lost Tree” off of the Fixed at Zero album.

I am in the midst of planning my summer.  It is involving a lot of thought and consideration on what the best choices will be.  I have an interview at a daycare on Friday.  I applied with the Canadian Diabetes Association to be an Assistant to the Camp Director for diabetes camp.  I have an application coming in the mail from a Christian day camp.

There are pros and cons to each job.  I know nothing about the day camp yet, so that is not an issue right now.

I’ve done daycare before, which is both a blessing and a curse.  A blessing because I know I like it, and a curse because I know I am okay at it.  It is a challenge in some ways, but it won’t be a new experience.  I will have four to eight solid weeks of work, August off, and possible September employment finalized.  These are all good things, but having August off is a bit weird as I intended to be working all summer.  But if it leads to additional school-year employment and perhaps next summer, that is fantastic.  Of course, I have yet to be offered the position, but the director is sounding very positive and I like that.

The Canadian Diabetes Association would be a completely new experience involving both program planning, organization, and a week or two at camp.  I would learn a lot.  I would have a very different experience behind me, and that is exciting.  I would be employed from the beginning of May to the end of August.  Did I mention I would get to work at CAMP?  I love camp.  I applied for that this evening, and will likely have an interview within the next week as postings go up next week.  This coming up is very interesting as the mom of one of my inclusion girlies passed this posting off to me without knowing of my new friendship with some members the DOC, and all that I’m learning from them.  That is tugging at me.

I am leaving this in the hands of the One who knows me better than I know myself.  I am trusting that whatever the first offer is, is the one I should take.  And I’m trusting that if neither offer comes, that there is something else awaiting me this summer.  Another unemployed summer is not an option.

Summer permeates my thoughts.  It has me sold that something good will come.

4 thoughts on “#hawmc six – “the summer has me, the summer has me sold”

    • Well, the diabetes camp is actually run by Canadian Diabetes Manitoba, but is in Ontario. But they’d transport me out to camp, I assume.

      I know it’s not fair. I would rock asthma camp!

      Thanks! 🙂

  1. Everything always works out. It seems like you have some really great things going, so just keep hoping and praying for the best. I always say, “hope for the best, plan for the worst”.

    • Hey Lauren, thanks for stopping by, and thanks for the encouragement! 🙂 The interview for the daycare was this morning and went SUPER well (and was FUN, imagine that), so I’m hopeful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

