blessed

I came to the realization earlier today, once again, of how blessed I am.  I came to this realization when I was freezing cold after the bus didn’t stop at my stop.  I thought of opportunity for grace as I told the bus driver “Thank you, have a nice day!” as I was getting off the bus.  We have frequent opportunities for grace in our lives, and it is something we do not always act gracefully in accepting.

So I live in the coldest city with a population of over 500,000.  And I was freezing my quads off and simultaneously reflecting upon how blessed I am.

I taught an asthma education class to grade eleven biology students this morning at my old school.  Yeah, Mr. T just lets me come in and teach, how awesome is that?  I call the shots—decide what I want them to come away with.  Blessed to have the ability to educate, to speak my mind, to help cure ignorance.  Blessed that I have managed to find whatever good I can out of my own asthma, to help others.  Blessed that I have medicine to help me breathe.  Blessed that I have these kinds of relationships, still, with my high school teachers.  Blessed that they still allow me to channel my energy into my old school, as I spent countless hours doing when I attended through social justice projects.  Education on the overlooked.

apples

I walked into my grade 12 biology/dance teacher’s classroom, and was greeted with a big smile and a hug.  We talked school, and then she decided that I should talk to her class.  So I talked about asthma and wellness and kinese and dance and how they should continue their studies in biology.  And they asked me questions about kinesiology, which was fantastic.  I wish somebody would pay me to travel and teach on wellness and asthma for a job; to meet people; to educate; to cure ignorance.

It was totally impromptu and I just love talking to people.  Mrs. P actually teaches a kin/dance class at another university, and she is just awesome.  She has a parrot at home and adorable rats in her classroom.  She lives on a farm, which is just super cool.  She has chickens.  She had no idea I was coming, but she gave me these

straight from her farm.  I got to bus home and trek through snow with a carton of eggs.  Life on the prairies.

The other day I was asked by another youth mom whose daughter I do inclusion with at youth to do respite care for the family—which is super cool fun stuff like going shopping or to a movie or bowling or whatever.  My other girl’s mom asked me if this was something I would be interested in doing with her daughter awhile back, and I said totally.  I am blessed by all of the pieces falling in line, pieces that will contribute to where I am going in the future with both occupational therapy and asthma education.  Blessed by the amazing girls I get to work with who see the world a little differently—who help me to see the world differently for the better, too.  Blessed by the church, the body of Christ, that is facilitating these things in me, stirring up these passions within me and helping me to LOVE, and use that LOVE to build into what I am growing passion for.

I am in love with kinesiology.  It is SO hard, but it’s awesome.  I am going to have to work my butt off the next three years, but I like learning things that might actually be applicable to my life.  I am blessed to be able to go to school, to have found these communities i fit in, to have a job that works with all that, to have all the stuff in my life.  To have all the people in my life. 

Blessed to have all this love in my life that comes from unexpected places.

These blessings are the everyday . . . things I don’t think of as often as I should.  What are the blessings in your life?  Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

