workin’ through the Bible with @andydarnell

So I’ve been trying to do this for probably three years now.  You know, actually completely read the Bible.  Except I get otherwise distracted from it [because apparently the Bible is a big and intimidating book, even though it’s totally easily to break down into easily-digestible chunks and find a version of it that works for you to understand what God’s speaking into your life the best].

My translations of choice are The Message and the New Living Translation.  At this point, I’m waiting for Amazon to pop a Message Bible into my mailbox because I currently only have the New Testament, but that’ll be a couple weeks still since I ordered it right after Christmas, before I even knew I was going to take on this challenge.

Awhile back, I connected with Andy Darnell on Twitter and through his blog, and I’ve read a lot of cool stuff on his site that’s really motivating.  This year, Andy is making his Bible reading more public this year and posting his thoughts on what he’s reading on his blog—he’s what sparked me to try doing this again [related: the man is otherwise epic – he just tweeted a picture of moving a piano with a tractor, people].  So that’s keeping me kinda accountable to keep up with him so that his thought postings make more sense!  We’re logging-ish our progress on YouVersion.com [I am at 0.5% right now, as told by the nifty progress meter].  Like Andy, I’m following the chronological reading plan.  You should join us!

Unlike every other time I’ve tried this, I’ve got accountability, and I’ve got a plan [you know how I usually read it?  Patchy incoherent clumps.], and I’ve got a nifty web tracking meter.  So let’s make this the year I actually dig into the word of God.  With the help of my new church, in addition to my involvement making me feel like I should know the Bible better, I’m also actually excited about it for the first time as opposed to that old feeling of “Since I’m a follower of Christ, I guess I should be reading this thing”.  [We all know how I feel about expectations and ritual and routine don’t we?]

By the end of 2011, I will [hopefully] have completely read the Bible for the first time ever!

8 thoughts on “workin’ through the Bible with @andydarnell

  1. Cool. I’ve been reading through for several years. This is the first time doing some dedicated writing with it. I think it is going to be very rewarding. Thanks for the post.

    • I’m stoked to follow along with your writing on it, especially seeing as you’re more seasoned at the reading/understanding part than I am! 🙂 Looking forward to the adventure! [I bumped myself up a day on reading yesterday so I’d be at the same place as your posts!]

      Hopefully we’ll find some others to join us!

  2. I’m tempted to join you but I don’t want to bite off more than I can chew. I read the entire old testament twice last semester(not the recommended pace). I’d also suggest that audio Bible definitely helps, cause then you can like ‘read’ on a moving bus if that would normally make you dizzy.

    • I hit the Audio Bible button on YouVersion yesterday and the background music made me laugh. Plus they only had the New Testament. I’m actually okay for reading on buses [I’m lucky that way!] and have enough Bibles around I should just start stashing them around in all my bags ;-). I find I don’t focus as well on what I’m reading OR listening to, as they are solely in place to distract me from the creepy people on the bus sometimes!

      • I totally understand being preoccupied with something while riding a bus, I used to live in NYC and Have you heard of the Bible.is app. It is a great way to listen and read the Bible at the same time. check it out. http://bible.is/apps

  3. I would join ya… except I am currently working on a few different reading plans. (Deep Dive 14 & Psalms and Proverbs & Morning and Evening ) So that keeps me occupied, and in the word! Even though I am kinda behind.. I plan to catch up tomorrow ;D

Leave a Reply

