thirty things about my invisible illness #iiwk10

1. The illness I live with is: asthma
2. I was diagnosed with it in: october 2008
3. But I had symptoms since: february 2008
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: taking my medications
5. Most people assume: that asthma is just a blue inhaler or controlled by default
6. The hardest part about mornings are: it’s usually at least a little tough to breathe
7. My favorite medical TV show is: none
8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: my iPod touch
9. The hardest part about nights are: having to remember to do my meds
10. Each day I take two to three inhalers, one to two pills and 0-4 nebulizer treatments
11. Regarding alternative treatments I: am skeptical
12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: invisible
13. Regarding working and career: My asthma has affected my productivity at work and school, but it’s something I’ll have to learn to just deal with
14. People would be surprised to know: how much medication i actually need for my asthma to be partially controlled.
15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: that barring some medical miracle, I AM going to have asthma the rest of my life.
16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: Asthma = no limits.  However, I never thought I’d actually get more after I was diagnosed.
17. The commercials about my illness: are basically nonexistent.
18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: being able to NOT go the doctor! (However dumb that may have been)
19. It was really hard to have to give up: not going to the doctor ;-).  That was a good two years!
20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: blogging and walking.
21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: Do a REALLY long walk without having to deal with nebs and inhalers!
22. My illness has taught me: about the AWESOME of the internet.
23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: “You think about breathing too much”.  I shouldn’t HAVE to, but do I have a choice right now?
24. But I love it when people: take the time to understand what this disease is actually like for me
25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: it varies, different things help at different times—usually music.
26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: learn as much as possible about their disease and find someone to talk to about their asthma when things get frustrating.
27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: that I would be able to educate others AND make new friends online.
28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: came over and hung out and watched a movie with me when we had plans, even though we had planned to be more active, she didn’t back out of our plans even though my asthma had to change them.
29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: i feel that there are lots of misconceptions about asthma and want to help change that.
30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: like you’re ready to learn more about what effect asthma has on my life.

I plan to write more about Invisible Illness Week throughout the week—feel free to drop me any questions you have about my asthma or experiences with asthma to kerriontheprairies [at] gmail [dot] com, and thanks for checking out this meme.

3 thoughts on “thirty things about my invisible illness #iiwk10

  1. Commercials about your illness? In the US I think there are a lot since drug ads are legal there. And here in Israel, there’s that PSA that I TOTALLY should have gotten the part for!!

    And awww…. I’m getting all warm and mushy inside since I’m one of the new friends you met online that you wouldn’t have met without your “invisible illness”.

    Also thanks so much for being there to vent my frustration to. I get so frustrated by asthma sometimes and I feel bad dumping it on you… Or for complaining at all, spoiled asthmatic that I am. You’re awesome. *Hugs*

    • Yeah, i see them in the US all the time, just not here. Plus the ones in the US are all containing people who are pretty much miracliously cured of their asthma by using Symbicort or Ventolin — note: have you ever seen a commercial for FloVent or Ventolin? Nopers.

      Hey, complain all you want my friend, I do it enough to you!

      • You said Ventolin twice. Also in the US no one uses Ventolin. Or at least I didn’t a bajillion years ago when I lived there. I’ve seen Advair and Singulair ads in American magazines and I enjoy reading the small print on the Advair ads (or on my pamphlet insert thing with the Symbicort) and scaring the creep out of myself. 😛

        And dude, I think I complain so much more than you do.

Leave a Reply

