to be happy now

happy now

Happiness.  Screw the idea from yesterday for now, we’re gonna talk happiness.  Or the opposite.  Whichever happens.  I don’t know if happiness can truly be discovered without exploring the opposite side.

The person I am now, you probably wouldn’t think I know too much about unhappiness.  I’ll say it, I’ve been there, and I was there for way too long.  Another story for another time.  But I do know from experience, that being happy is way, way more fun than being unhappy.  Because being depressed definitely messes you up.  Sometimes it’s not something you can control, but people who deal with legit depression I’ve found don’t use it to get attention.  It’s the last thing they want anybody to notice.

You know the phrase “emo” that rose up about five or six years ago?  Yeah, that stuff drives me crazy.  Because the majority of these emo people, people who think they’re so depressed, their lives suck so much, really have nothing to complain about.  I’m not saying they don’t have problems, because everybody has problems.  They just deal with it in a way that they think will get them attention.  Because they’re so vulnerable and broken emotionally.  And they play it like a game.

Depression is serious and depression is not a game.  Depression has to do with brain chemistry and it’s bigger than choosing to be sad when things aren’t going your way.  Depression is every day, every minute, and you can’t just choose to end it—it’s a medical condition that usually requires treatment.

Having problems sucks.  Having emotional problems sucks.  I get that.  I may even get that more than the average person.  Always, always, if it is sought out correctly, healing is an option.  Healing can be the absolute hardest part.

breña

But I’ve had enough of the emo bullshit.  Because there is never a reason to want to be sad, to choose to be unhappy.  That’s just stupid and moronic.  Because there is so much in this world to be happy about, so much we’re blessed with . . . every single day.

We’re all healing from whatever life’s thrown at us.  At least, I know I am . . . are you?

Leave a Reply

